Concealed Handgun Permits
If you’re seeking a concealed handgun permit in the State of Colorado, please read the criteria below to see if you’re eligible. If you’re indeed able to possess a firearm without restrictions, click the button below to download the application. Present the application and your training certificate when you come in for your fingerprints.
To schedule an appointment contact Zach Janssen at (719) 767-5633 Monday, Wednesday – Friday. Office hours are 8am – 4pm.
Criteria for obtaining a permit
(1) Legal resident of the state of Colorado and Cheyenne County
(2) 21 years of age or older
(3) Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or federal law
(4) Submit a training certificate from a handgun training classroom obtained within 10 years proceeding submittal of the application. THIS EXCLUDES ONLINE COURSES! WE WILL NOT ACCEPT ONLINE TRAINING CERTIFICATES!
(5) Fill out Concealed Handgun Permit Application
(6) Submit fingerprints for background-check
(7) Fee of $62.50 due at the time of fingerprints! We accept cash, check (made payable to the Cheyenne County Sheriff’s Office), or a money order.
18-12-211 Renewal of permits
Within 120 days prior to expiration of a permit, the permitee may obtain a renewal form from the sheriff.
A permitee who fails to file a renewal form on or before the permit expiration date may renew the permit by paying a late fee of ($15.00) in addition to the renewal fee of ($13) and a ($10) printed card fee. No permit shall be renewed six months (6) or more after its expiration date, and the permit shall be deemed to have permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply for a permit, but the person shall submit an application for a permit and the fee required ($52.50) for background check and ($10.00) for the printed card fee.
States that recognize Colorado Permits are marked in green Pursuant to Colorado law (CRS 18-12-213), the State of Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permit was issued to a resident of the state issuing the permit, and the permittee is 21 yrs of age or older, AND the other state recognizes Colorado permits as valid in their state. When traveling with a Colorado permit, it is advisable to contact the state you are visiting to confirm reciprocity and to review that state’s firearms laws.